Innovation

 

Chez Stepan, les initiatives en matière d’innovation sont guidées par notre vision de l’entreprise : « solutions chimiques innovantes pour un monde plus propre, plus sain, et plus écoénergétique ». Stepan works closely with customers to meet the needs of a growing population and families with increased disposable income, while recognizing our responsibility to conserve energy and use resources wisely. Nous avons redéfini notre processus et notre culture en matière d’innovation en mettant en place des systèmes composés d’outils clés pour gérer notre portefeuille d’innovations. Nos opportunités sont identifiées en fonction des exigences du marché et d’exercices d’évaluation des tendances impliquant nos clients et des équipes multidisciplinaires. Elles sont ensuite examinées à l’aide d’une démonstration de faisabilité et guidées selon un processus à phases multiples vers l’élaboration d’un produit commercial.

Environ 40 % des ressources en R&D de Stepan sont déployées pour soutenir les programmes d’innovation stratégique et les partenariats. Le programme novateur sur les matières premières et le programme de récupération assistée du pétrole (Enhanced Oil Recovery, EOR) sont deux programmes stratégiques bien définis.

Novel Feedstock Program Conversion à l’écologie

L’objectif du programme sur les matières premières de Stepan est d’identifier des matières premières pouvant être produites à partir de sources non traditionnelles, telles que le maïs et la canne. Ces matières premières peuvent être transformées ultérieurement en ingrédients pour la fabrication de produits de grande consommation. Profitant de la révolution des biotechnologies, Stepan travaille avec des fournisseurs pour concevoir des produits capables de satisfaire les futurs besoins et critères de performance de nos clients.

Récupération assistée du pétrole (EOR)Photo TIORCO

Les tendances énergétiques mondiales ont accentué l’urgence de développer les réserves inexploitées dans des champs de pétrole matures, créant ainsi un regain d’intérêt pour les technologies EOR. En identifiant ce besoin client, Stepan a développé un programme d’EOR visant à permettre à l’industrie de mieux comprendre la science de l’EOR par des produits chimiques et à mettre au point des tensioactifs de spécialité en tirant parti du vaste réseau de production de Stepan. Current innovation efforts are focused on leveraging our understanding of emulsification physical chemistry, developing advanced analytical methods to gain an advanced knowledge of structure/property relationships, and developing data-driven predictive model that enhance our competitive advantage in this fast-growing market segment.

Collaboration

Stepan’s collaboration with Elevance has resulted in many new projects being added to our Innovation portfolio and provided us an advanced look at a new state-of-the-art technology.

Stepan et Nalco ont formé une coentreprise, TIORCO, fournisseur unique de solutions et de services d’EOR. Sous la marque TIORCO, la coentreprise fournit aux producteurs d’énergie dans le monde entier des processus de récupération assistée du pétrole intégrés en s’appuyant sur les 30 ans d’expérience de TIORCO en matière d’expertise sur les polymères et les réservoirs, le vaste rayonnement de Nalco sur les marchés énergétiques mondiaux en amont et les technologies BrightWater® ainsi que la technologie mondiale sur les tensioactifs de Stepan et ses capacités de fabrication. Stepan et TIORCO travaillent en étroite collaboration afin de comprendre les attributs et variables essentiels dans les réservoirs du monde entier pour fournir les meilleures solutions avec des tensioactifs.

 
 
 
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

At Stepan, our innovation initiatives are guided by our Corporate Vision—“Innovative Chemical Solutions for a Cleaner, Healthier, More Energy-Efficient World.” Stepan works closely with customers to meet the needs of a growing population and families with increased disposable income, while recognizing our responsibility to conserve energy and use resources wisely. We have redefined our innovation process and culture by establishing key-enabling systems to drive and manage our innovation portfolio. Opportunities are identified through market needs and trends assessment exercises involving our customers and multidisciplinary teams. They are then screened through proof-of-concept and guided through a phase gate process toward a commercial product.

Approximately 40% of Stepan’s R&D resources are deployed to support strategic innovation programs and partnerships. Two well-defined strategic programs are Novel Feedstocks and Enhanced Oil Recovery (EOR).

Novel Feedstock Program Green Conversion

The objective of Stepan’s feedstock program is the identification of raw material that may be produced from non-traditional sources, such as corn and cane. These raw materials may then be further converted to consumer product ingredients. Taking advantage of the biotechnology revolution, Stepan is working with suppliers to design products capable of satisfying our customers’ future needs and performance criteria.

Enhanced Oil Recovery (EOR) TIORCO Photo

Global energy trends have precipitated the need to develop untapped reserves in mature oil fields, thereby creating a renewed interest in EOR technologies. Recognizing this customer need, Stepan has developed an EOR program focused upon leading the industry in understanding the science of chemical EOR and developing specialty surfactants that leverage Stepan’s expansive manufacturing network. Current innovation efforts are focused on leveraging our understanding of emulsification physical chemistry, developing advanced analytical methods to gain an advanced knowledge of structure/property relationships, and developing data-driven predictive model that enhance our competitive advantage in this fast-growing market segment.


Stepan’s collaboration with Elevance has resulted in many new projects being added to our Innovation portfolio and provided us an advanced look at a new state-of-the-art technology.

Stepan and Nalco formed the joint venture TIORCO, a “one-stop-shop” solutions and services provider of EOR. Under the TIORCO brand, the joint venture provides energy producers worldwide with integrated oil-recovery processes by leveraging TIORCO's 30 years of experience in EOR polymer and reservoir expertise, Nalco's extensive reach in global upstream energy markets and BrightWater® technologies, and Stepan's global surfactant technology and manufacturing capabilities. Stepan and TIORCO work closely to understand key attributes and variables in reservoirs around the world to provide the best surfactant solutions.